The Buddhist religion is very
peculiar and it is predicated upon the “4 Noble Truths” and the eighth fold
path. Buddhist do not believe in a God nor do they have one. They believe and
follow the act of Buddha who was the “Enlightened one” that believed in a
certain way this is how you’re supposed to live. The four Noble Truths are the
truth of suffering (Dukkha), the cause of suffering (Samudaya), the end of
suffering (Nirhoda), and the truth that frees us from suffering (Magga). Dukkha
is that suffering comes in many forms and the other three correspond. Dukkha
goes very deep in which life is not ideal and that it often fails to live up to
our expectations. Satisfactions for humans are only temporary and pleasure does
not last but becomes monotonous. Buddha’s teachings don’t end with suffering
but tells us how to end it.


Samudaya the second noble truth
claims to have found the solution of all suffering and its deeper than our
immediate worries. In this noble truth, the root of all suffering is desire
that comes in three forms. Buddha named them as the three roots of evil: Greed
and desire symbolled as a rooster, ignorance or delusion represented by a pig,
and finally hatred and destructive urges symbolized as a snake. Nirhoda is the
third noble truth to end desire which causes suffering. Keyword for the third
Noble Truth is Nirvana which means “to extinguish”, humans can reach nirvana
but that doesn’t guarantee them going to heaven.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             On
the other hand, someone who has attained enlightenment is filled with
compassion for all living things. DO NOT ask Buddha questions about Nirvana but
an enlightened person is liberated from the cycle of birth.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now


Finally, the fourth Noble truth that
the Buddhist seek is “Magga” which is the end of all suffering followed by a
set of principles called the eighth fold path. Rather than get into too much
detail the eighth fold path can be summarized into; wisdom (right understanding
and intention), Ethical Conduct (right speech, action and livelihood) and meditation
(right effort, mindfulness and concentration.) Philosophical Buddhism is right
in line with Buddha’s religious beliefs. The sole purpose behind Buddhism is to
find a way to end suffering in life. Also looking at the characteristics behind
the word religion, the meaning of a religion is sacred texts that may be in a
written form or inscribed in images to educate and also understand the
significant beliefs of their religion.


All religions and beliefs are
different and some seem to contradict what they’re supposed to be about but not
so much Buddhism. As far as Buddhism is concerned the four noble truths and the
eighth fold path not only tells you what the religion was about but also the
deeper meaning to it.

Post Author: admin


I'm Eileen!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out